University Embraces New Higher Education Network

President SpenceWashington Adventist University President Weymouth Spence, Ed.D., Joined Maryland higher education leaders at Montgomery College recently for the inauguration of the Maryland-DC Campus Compact (MDCC), the largest higher education association in the region, comprised of the presidents of 30 colleges and universities.

The President said membership in the organization is in keeping with WAU’s commitment to civic engagement embodied in its mission statement, “This cosmopolitan institution challenges students to seize the opportunities for learning in the nation’s capital in order to become moral leaders in communities throughout the world.”

President Spence

The MDCCC is a consortium of higher education institutions committed to collaboratively addressing local and global community issues through student service, civic engagement, academically based service-learning, and campus-community partnerships. The launch event celebrated the expansion of this higher education network to include colleges and universities in Washington, DC.

Presidents attending the event signed the Declaration of Civic Learning & Democratic Engagement, heeding the national call to action and fulfilling America’s promise as outlined in the Association of American Colleges and Universities’ 2012 report, A Crucible Moment: College Learning & Democracy’s Future. Dr. Richard Guarasci, President of Wagner College, NY and a member of the National Task Force on Civic Learning & Democratic Engagement gave the keynote address.

The MDCCC network mobilized over 9 million hours of service in 2011, valued at almost $200 million to the region. MDCCC’s twenty-two full-time AmeriCorps*VISTA members serve at member campuses organizing students to address poverty and strengthen the capacity of non-profits in the region. The MDCCC also organizes workshops, conferences, and professional development opportunities for faculty, administrators, community partners, and students.

Originally founded in 2008 as the Maryland Campus Compact, the newly incorporated Maryland-DC Campus Compact, a 501(c) 3 organization, is the most recent regional office of the National Campus Compact. The National Campus Compact, a coalition of nearly 1,200 college and university presidents representing some 6 million students, was founded in 1985 to revitalize the public purposes of higher education. The Maryland-DC Campus Compact is the only higher education association in the Maryland-DC area that includes two-year, four-year, public, private, and graduate only institutions.

The founding presidents represent the following institutions in Maryland and Washington, D.C.: Maryland – Carroll Community College; Chesapeake College; Coppin State University; Frostburg State University; Garrett College; Goucher College; Hood College; Johns Hopkins University; Loyola University, Maryland; Maryland Institute College of Art; McDaniel College; Montgomery College; Morgan State University; Mount St. Mary’s University; Notre Dame of Maryland University; Prince George’s Community College; Stevenson University; Towson University; University of Baltimore; University of MD, Baltimore; University of MD, Baltimore County; University of MD, College Park; University of Maryland, Eastern Shore; Washington Adventist University; District of Columbia – American University, Gallaudet University, George Washington University, Georgetown University, University of the District of Columbia, Wesley Theological Seminary.