Two Students are Honored by WAU as the University’s First Sullivan Award Winners

Takoma Park, MD (April 24) - This year, for the first time, Washington Adventist University (WAU) presented the prestigious Sullivan awards to two students in recognition of their demonstrated passion for community service. Nikole Donovan, an undergraduate who is majoring in social work, received the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award at the Academic Awards Chapel on April 23 at Sligo Seventh-day Adventist Church. Louise Griffin -- a student in the School of Graduate and Professional Studies (SGPS) who is earning her master’s degree in healthcare administration -- received the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award at the SGPS Academic Awards Program that same afternoon in the Morrison Hall Chapel on campus.

“The WAU community is excited to pause and recognize outstanding members of our community,” said Dr. Ralph Johnson, Dean of the WAU Betty Howard Center for Student Success.

Since 1890, the highly-prized Sullivan awards have been presented on the campuses of colleges and universities across the American South. These institutions all reflect the interest of prominent lawyer, businessman and philanthropist Algernon Sydney Sullivan and his wife, Mary Mildred Sullivan, to educate and honor deserving students. The awards are named for the Sullivans to honor their lives of service.

There are currently 61 colleges and universities presenting Sullivan awards, facilitated by the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation, based in Oxford, Miss. The Sullivan Foundation Board of Directors reviews applications from eligible institutions interested in participating in the awards presentations, visits the campuses, and approves participation in the awards program based on merit. Participating institutions may present the awards to graduating seniors, alumni, or community members who meet the award criteria. Notable past award recipients include Eleanor Roosevelt and Supreme Court Justice Lewis Powell.

Attending WAU’s first Sullivan awards presentations this year was Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation President Stephan L. McDavid, Esq. The awards themselves are bronze medallions, each accompanied by a framed certificate and a biography of either Algernon Sydney Sullivan or Mary Mildred Sullivan.

WAU Sullivan Awards - Press Release