Betty Howard Center for Student Success

The resources of the Betty Howard Center for Student Success are available to all students. We are ready to help you achieve success as you pursue your educational goals. Below is a list, of our major programs and services.

Betty Howard Center staff:

  • John Boggs, Dean email: jboggs@wau.edu
  • Fitzroy Thomas, Associate Dean email: fthomas@wau.edu
  • Becky Barker, FYE Coordinator email: bbarker@wau.edu
  • Dr. Beulah Manuel, International Student Coordinator, DSO email: bmanuel@wau.edu
  • Nedelka Sellers, Administrative Assistant email: nsellers@wau.edu
  • Brooke Tucker, Academic Coach email: btucker@wau.edu
  • Mekedes Legesse, Academic Coach email: mlegesse@alexandra
  • or Contact us: BHCSS@wau.edu or 301.891.4106
  • Academic Coaching: Academic Coaches provide strengths-based wrap-around academic supports to students, including: study skills instruction, time management, and mentoring, both in class and in 1:1 settings.
  • Rising Scholars: The WAU Rising Scholar Program is a semester-long college preparatory experience for students who wish to strengthen academic skills, build confidence, form new friendships and enhance their potential for college,
  • Career Services & Internships: This program offers assistance with writing a resume, job postings on and off campus, as well as assistance finding internship sites for those whose majors require experiential education.
  • Disability Services: WAU is committed to providing an equitable and exemplary education for all of our students by offering reasonable accommodations to students with disabilities to ensure their academic and personal success.
  • First Year Experience: Special activities and a one credit class designed to help first-year students become gain a sense of belonging at WAU, and forge connections with other students, available resources, and faculty and staff.
  • General Honors Societies: The Center sponsors the WAU Chapters of Alpha Chi, Phi Eta Sigma and Omicron Delta Kappa honor societies, in addition to the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS)
  • General Studies: Whether you are undecided about a major or wanting to pursue a degree in General Studies, this program will assist you in reaching your goals.
  • New Student Orientation: With a blend of online and face-to-face engagments, NSO is designed to help new students transition to campus and understand the privileges and obligations of being part of the WAU Community.

Support on every step of your academic journey

  • Testing Services: Our staff works closely with the-various academic departments, individual instructors, the student population on campus, and the community at large by disseminating, administering, and proctoring tests and exams, as well a placement testing for new students.
  • Tutoring Services: Subject-tutoring is available for students who seek one-on-one instruction to further enhance their learning, and is available in person and online through Homework Help by Revolution Prep. .
  • Writing Center: The Writing Center is run by the English department. Trained tutors are available to help students to: ease writing anxieties, clarify assignments, brainstorm ideas and topics, plan and organize term papers, determine revision strategies, and provide guidelines for avoiding recurring grammatical mistakes.

Academic Alert