Honor Societies


As you progress through your college career and succeed academically, you may have the opportunity to join one of the WAU Chapters of six national honor societies.

Washington Adventist University was the first Seventh-day Adventist University to join national honor societies, and has active chapters of the six national honor societies listed below. These honor societies help promote and recognize excellence in scholastic achievement, leadership and character development.

New student members who meet the eligibility requirements specified by the society are formally inducted into the society during the school year.  Honor societies at WAU are coordinated by the Center for Student Success.

WAU Honor Societies

  • Omicron Delta Kappa – National Leadership Honor Society for Juniors, Seniors and Graduate Students
  • Alpha Chi – for junior, senior and graduate students
  • Phi Eta Sigma – for first-year college students
  • Alpha Kappa Mu – for junior, senior and graduate students
  • Lambda Beta – National Honory Society in Respiratory Care
  • Phi Alpha – National Honor Society in Social Work
  • Phi Alpha Theta – National Honor Society in History
  • Sigma Beta Delta — for junior, senior, and graduate students in business, management, and administration
  • Psi Chi – International Honor Society in Psychology
  • Sigma Tau Delta – International Honor Society for English